Rajasthani (राजस्थानी/راجستھاني)

Rajasthani is a Western Indo-Aryan language with about 80 million speakers. It is spoken mainly in Rajasthan and the neighbouring states of Gujarat, Haryana and Punjab in India, and also in some parts of Sindh and Punjab in Pakistan. Rajasthani developed from a language spoken between 1100 and 1500 AD in Gujarat and Rajasthan and known as Old Gujarati, Maru-Gurjar, Maruwani or Gujjar Bhakha.

There are many dialects of Rajasthani, including: Bagri, Shekhawati, Marwari, Dhundhari, Harauti, Mewari, Mewati and Ahirwati. Some Rajasthani dilaects differ significantly from others and are considered separate languages by some.

Rajasthani was considered a dialect of Hindi in the 19th and early 20th century. It is now considered a distinct language and is recognised as a state language by the government of Rajasthan.

Rajasthani is written with the Devanāgarī alphabet in India, and with the Perso-Arabic alphabet in Pakistan.

Devanāgarī alphabet for Rajasthani

Devanāgarī alphabet for Rajasthani

Arabic alphabet for Rajasthani

Arabic alphabet for Rajasthani

Information about Rajasthani alphabets provided by Wolfram Siegel

Sample text in Rajasthani

Sample text in Rajasthani (Article 1 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights)


Sāgalā minakha azāda ara pratiṣṭhā ne ādhikārām rī barībarī liyīḍā paidā hīve. Khām mem ina bāta rī samajha ara viveka hīve ke khāne eka dū re sāge bhāīcāre mūm raiṇom hai.


All human beings are born free and equal in dignity and rights. They are endowed with reason and conscience and should act towards one another in a spirit of brotherhood.
(Article 1 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights)


Information about the Rajasthani language

Centre for Rajasthani Studies

Indo-Aryan languages

Awadhi, Assamese, Bengali, Bhojpuri, Chakma, Dhivehi, Dhundari, Domari, Fiji Hindi, Garhwali, Gujarati, Hajong, Hindi, Kashmiri, Konkani, Kotia, Kutchi, Magahi, Maithili, Marathi, Marwari, Modi, Nepali, Odia, Palula, Punjabi, Rajasthani, Rohingya, Romani, Saraiki, Sarnámi Hindustani, Sindhi, Sinhala, Shina, Sourashtra, Sugali, Sylheti, Torwali, Urdu

Languages written with the Devanāgarī alphabet

Awadhi, Bodo, Bhojpuri, Dhundari, Garhwali, Hindi, Jarawa, Kashmiri, Konkani, Kurukh, Magahi, Maithili, Marathi, Marwari, Mundari, Newar, Nepali, Pali, Rajasthani, Sanskrit, Saraiki, Shina, Sindhi, Sunuwar, Sylheti

Other languages written with the Arabic script

Green Web Hosting - Kualo

Why not share this page:


If you need to type in many different languages, the Q International Keyboard can help. It enables you to type almost any language that uses the Latin, Cyrillic or Greek alphabets, and is free.

If you like this site and find it useful, you can support it by making a donation via PayPal or Patreon, or by contributing in other ways. Omniglot is how I make my living.


Note: all links on this site to Amazon.com, Amazon.co.uk and Amazon.fr are affiliate links. This means I earn a commission if you click on any of them and buy something. So by clicking on these links you can help to support this site.