Argobba (ዓርጎባ)

Argobba is spoken by about 40,000 people in an area north-east of Addis Ababa in Ethiopia. It is a member of the Southern Ethiopian branch of Semitic languages and has four main dialects: Harar (extinct), Aliyu Amba, Shewa Robit and Shonke. There is currently a shift among Argobba speakers in favour of Oromo or Amharic, to which Argobba is fairly closely related.

Argobba can be written with a version of the Ethiopic script.

Argobba script

Argobba alphabet

Information compiled by Wolfram Siegel


Information about Argobba

Semitic languages

Akkadian, Amharic, Arabic, Aramaic, Argobba, Assyrian / Neo-Assyrian, Canaanite, Chaha, Chaldean Neo-Aramaic, Ge'ez, Hadhramautic, Hebrew, Himyaritic, Jewish Neo-Aramaic, Maltese, Mandaic, Nabataean, Neo-Mandaic, Phoenician, Punic, Qatabanic, Sabaean, Sabaic, Silt'e, Syriac, Tigre, Tigrinya, Turoyo, Ugaritic, Western Neo-Aramaic

Languages written with the Ethiopic (Ge'ez) script

Amharic, Argobba, Awngi, Blin, Chaha, Dizin, Ge'ez, Harari, Inor, Silt'e, Tigre, Tigrinya, Xamtanga

Learn Chinese Characters with the Omniglot Chinese app | Language Jobs at
Hosted by Kualo