- which is the best language course or software - compare

It's time to learn Hebrew with eTeacher

French lessons online with Frantastique - Free trial

Names of countries and regions of Europe in local languages

English name Short local name Full local name Translation
Albania Shqipëria Republika e Shqipërisë Republic of Albania
Andorra Andorra Principat d'Andorra Principality of Andorra
Austria Österreich Republik Österreich Republic of Austria
Azerbaijan Azərbaycan, Азәрбајҹан
Azərbaycan Respublikası
Азәрбајҹан Республикаси
(Azərbaycan Respublikası)
Azerbaijani Republic
Belarus Biełaruś
Respublika Biełaruś
Рэспублика Беларусь
(Respublika Belarus')
Republic of Belarus
Belgium België
Koninkrijk België
Royaume de Belgique
Königreich Belgien
Kingdom of Belgium
Bosnia and Herzegovina Bosna i Hercegovina (Bosnian & Croatian)
Босна и Херцеговина (Serbian)
Bulgaria България
Република България
(Republika Bŭlgarija)
Republic of Bulgaria
Croatia Hrvatska Republika Hrvatska Republic of Croatia
Cyprus Κύπρος
Κυπριακή Δημοκρατία
(Kypriakī́ Dīmokratía)
Kıbrıs Cumhuriyeti
Republic of Cyprus
Czech Republic Česko Česká republika  
Denmark Danmark Kongeriget Danmark Kingdom of Denmark
Estonia Eesti Eesti Vabariik Republic of Estonia
Faroe Islands Føroyar
Finland Suomi
Suomen Tasavalta
Republiken Finland
Republic of Finland
France France (French) République Française French Republic
Frantzia (Basque) Frantziako Errepublika
Bro-C'hall (Breton) Republik c'hall
França (Catalan) la República Francesa
Francia (Corsican) Republica Francese
França (Occitan) la Republica Francesa
Brittany Bretagne (France)  
Breizh (Breton)  
Bertaèyn (Gallo)  
Alsace Alsace (France  
Elsàss (Alsatian)  
Elsass / Elsaß (German)  
Aquitaine Aquitaine (French)  
Aquitània (Occitan)  
Akitania (Basque)  
Languedoc-Roussillon (French)  
Lengadòc-Rosselhon (Occitan)  
Llenguadoc-Rosselló (Catalan)  
Provence Provence (French)  
Provença / Prouvènço (Provençal)  
Germany Deutschland Bundesrepublik Deutschland Federal Republic
of Germany
Greece Ελλάδα / Έλλας
(Elláda / Ellas)
Ελληνική Δημοκρατία
(Ellīnikī́ Dīmokratía)
Hellenic Republic
Republic of Greece
Guernsey (Channel Islands) Guernsey
Bailiwick of Guernesey (English)
Bailliage de Guernesey (French)
Hungary Magyarország    
Iceland Ísland Lýðveldið Ísland Republic of Iceland
Ireland Ireland
Republic of Ireland
Poblacht na hÉireann
Isle of Man Isle of Man
Ellan Vannin  
Italy Italia Repubblica Italiana Italian Republic
(Channel Islands)
Bailiwick of Jersey (English)
Bailliage de Jersey (French)
Latvia Latvija Latvijas Republika Republic of Latvia
Liechtenstein Liechtenstein Fürstentum Liechtenstein Principality of Liechtenstein
Lithuania Lietuva Lietuvos Respublika Republic of Lithuania
Luxembourg Luxembourg
Grand-Duché de Luxembourg (French)
Großherzogtum Luxemburg (German)
Grousherzogdem Lëtzebuerg (Lëtzebuergesch)
(Grand Duchy of Luxembourg)
Macedonia Македонија
Република Македонија (Republika Makedonija)
The Republic of Macedonia
Поранешна Југословенска Република Македонија
(Poraneshna Jugoslovenska Republika Makedonija)
Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
Malta Malta Repubblika ta' Malta Republic of Malta
Moldova Moldova
Republica Moldova
Република Молдова
Republic of Moldova
Monaco Monaco Principauté de Monaco Principality of Monaco
Montenegro Црна Гора
(Crna Gora)
Netherlands, Holland Nederland (Dutch)
Nederlân (West Frisian)
Koninkrijk der Nederlanden (Dutch)
Keninkryk fan de Nederlannen (West Frisian)
Kingdom of the Netherlands
Norway Norge (Bokmål)
Noreg (Nynorsk)
Kongeriket Norge
Kongeriket Noreg
Kingdom of Norway
Poland Polska Rzeczpospolita Polska Republic of Poland
Portugal Portugal República Portuguesa Portuguese Republic
Romania România    
Russia Россия
Российская Федерация (Rossiyskaya Federatsiya) Russian Federation
San Marino San Marino Serenissima Repubblica di San Marino Most Serene Republic of San Marino
Serbia Србија (Srbija) Република Србија (Republika Srbija) Republic of Serbia
Slovakia Slovensko Slovenska Republika Slovak Republic
Slovenia Slovenija Republika Slovenija Republic of Slovenia
Spain España (Castilian)
Espanya (Catalan)
Espainia (Basque)
Reino de España

Regne d'Espanya

Erresuma Espaninia
Kingdom of Spain
Sweden Sverige Konungariket Sverige Kingdom of Sweden
Switzerland die Schweiz (German)
Suisse (French)
Svizzera (Italian)
Svizra (Romansch)
Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft
Confederation Suisse
Confederazione Svizzera
Confederaziun Svizra
Swiss Confederation - the official name
is Confoederatio Helvetica (Helvetic Confederation).
The use of Latin avoids having to favor one of the
four official languages.
Turkey Türkiye Türkiye Cumhuriyeti Republic of Turkey
United Kingdom
United Kingdom of Great Britain
and Northern Ireland
Teyrnas Unedig
Teyrnas Unedig Prydain Fawr
a Gogledd Iwerddon
An Rywvaneth Unys
An Rywvaneth Unys a Vreten Veur
hag Iwerdhon Gledh
An Rìoghachd Aonaichte
(Scottish Gaelic)
Rìoghachd Aonaichte Bhreatainn
agus Éirinn a Tuath
Ríocht Aontaithe
Ríocht Aontaithe na Breataine Móire
agus Thuaisceart Éireann
Unitit Kinrick
Unitit Kinrick o Great Breetain
an Northren Ireland
England England
Scotland Alba (Scottish Gaelic) Rìoghachd na h-Alba
Scotland (Scots) Kinrick o Scotland
Scotland (English) Kingdom of Scotland
Wales Cymru (Welsh)
Wales (English)
Cornwall Kernow (Cornish) Dugeth Kernow
Cornwall (English) Duchy of Cornwall
Northern Ireland (English)
Tuaisceart Éireann (Irish)
Norlin Airlann (Ulster Scots)
Ukraine Україна (Ukrajina - Ukrainian)
Украина (Ukraina - Russian)
Vatican City Vaticanum Status Civitatis Vaticanae State of Vatican City

Other continents

Africa, Asia, Europe, North America, Oceania, South America

Please note: You may need to download and install some Unicode fonts in order to see some of the text on this page.

If you would like to make any corrections or additions to this page, or if you can provide recordings, please contact me.


Multilingual pages

Phrases | Numbers | Numerals | Colours | Time expressions | Kinship terms | Language names | Country names | Idioms | Proverbs | Tongue twisters | Signs | UDHR | Tower of Babel | Songs | Omniglot | Seven dwarfs | Zodiac signs | Computer parts